OMGenre!, Think Thursday

Think Thursday_blog
 
Something has been plaguing me, ever since I began my MS months ago. Why must selecting an accurate (or as close to accurate as one can get) genre for my MS be so damn difficult?! In general, I am what you would call a contemporary fiction writer. My works often consist of mortal humans with real-life issues in real time with romantic elements. But for this MS, my writing decided not to follow the path given, taking an alternate route. In Like Yesterday, there are real people with real issues, but there’s also a time-travel component (sci-fi) and heavy romance; the MS, as a whole, is neither genre. I would lean more towards Romance, but that genre has specific rules and guidelines that my MS just doesn’t meet. Science Fiction? Not even close. I just got tired of trying to narrow down a specific genre. So…I decided…Commercial Fiction is what it will be since Like Yesterday may appeal to readers across other genres. At this point, I could call it Bullshit Fiction and be happy.

What do you do when hitting that genre road block while writing? What if your MS won’t fit neatly into just one genre? Choose one or create your own?

 

blogsiggy

Leave a Reply

