NaNo—What in THE hell was I thinking?!

In case some of you haven’t noticed, look over there to the right. Yeah, where it says Na No Wri Mo in those little colorful circles, and underneath it you’ll see a calendar with how many words I have written so far in November.

Just totally unacceptable and darn right shameful. (Quick reminder: The goal of NaNo is to write 50,000 words by Nov. 30. Um…yeah…it’s Nov. 26.) I had high hopes and determination [for like the first 24 hours] b/c I know that I am a MAJOR…like the chief…procrastinator. I was hoping that participating in something like NaNo would force me to crank my butt into gear. But nope…even my butt is stubborn.

Most of my procrastination stems from lack of motivation. Yeah, yeah…I know…

Well…damn that! No amount of pep talking is going to recharge my energy levels. I’m also too involved in the querying process of We’re Family…Right?. It was only a few months ago when I slapped the “Finished” seal on it. How others just jump right into writing another book is nothing short of miraculous and commendable.

At first, I thought that perhaps I had no motivation b/c I didn’t particularly like what I was writing. But then…more ideas and a more scandalous plot just hit me, and I continued typing away. That, however, didn’t last long. 😦  I once again became engulfed in my 9 to 5 workload, and the typing stopped. I still wholeheartedly believe in my new story, but right now, my creative mind needs to rest. Once enough agents tell my current novel in submission to Go straight to hell; do not pass Go; do not collect $200, then I’ll happily shelve it and move on to nurture my latest baby.

So yeah…ignore that calendar over there. It should depress me, but it doesn’t. It’s just a reminder that it’s okay to be exhausted; it’s okay to take a break. And the great news is…I actually started a new work-in-progress! :: drops it low :: :: break dances :: :: springs to my knees :: :: pirouettes :: :: death drops ::

Oh…I also have another author interview coming soon. So, be on the lookout for that! 🙂

blogsiggy

7 thoughts on “NaNo—What in THE hell was I thinking?!

  1. I, too, attempted NaNoWriMo and puttered out much too early. Fret not! Maybe you needed November to let your book incubate. May the next months be more prolific for you. 🙂

  2. If it makes you feel any better, I sputtered out as well. The lesson I learned is that I’m still not up to the task of writing a full-length novel. But that’s alright. You have to figure out where your limits are before you can go to work stretching them.

  3. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism
    or copyright violation? My website has a lot of exclusive content
    I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any techniques to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d
    certainly appreciate it.

    • Unfortunately, I don’t have any tips to offer you. I think that is a risk we bloggers take when publishing any word to the web. I have yet to run into that issue, but I’m not overly concerned either. If you are concerned, then my only advice is for you to be extra careful about what you publish. I hope that you find a solution soon.

Leave a Reply

