NaNoWriMo—Here I Come

I am ridiculously excited for this! I hate that I didn’t know about NaNo until about a month ago when I joined the Heaven-sent Agent Query Connect. (What an insightful group of writers they are!) I probably would’ve had an additional manuscript under my belt by now. Since I am currently working on a short story, which will set the stage for book #3, NaNo is a finger snap and sashay away from guaranteeing that I won’t take another two years just writing a novel. I’m an unashamed procrastinator, even when I have goals set. So, instead of waiting until something undesirable happens in my life [again] to complete a manuscript, I’m going to use NaNo (and it’s wonderful group of buddies) for encouragement and to keep that fire lit under my ass.

Now, some of you are probably going…

…so let me explain. For those of you (especially authors) who don’t know about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), it is a month-long event that challenges you to write a 50,000-word novel starting on November 1 and ending at 11:59:59 p.m. on November 30. The novel has to be complete (as in finished but not necessarily polished and ready for submission). That works out to be about 1,667 words per day or skipping a day and writing 3,334 words the next or however you wish to divide your writing/time. The goal isn’t to be perfect but just simply to finish.

Sometimes, we need that extra push or incentive to reach our goals. I can’t be the only procrastinator out there…sitting at a computer all day browsing the web for shoes, celebrity gossip, and get-rich-quick schemes or stalking Twitter timelines and Facebook walls (well…maybe not ALL of those things…hehe). So, fellow writers, if you have a book idea brewing and free time in November, join the rest of us. You certainly won’t be lonely and will have plenty of support. For our readers, just sit back and wait until December 1; you will have plenty of books to add to your shelves next year.

blogsiggy

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo—Here I Come

Leave a Reply

