I have a migraine!

This was me just one month ago.

And you know, I’d be lying if I said that since my second novel is “done” (I’ll explain in a minute why that is in quotes), I have time to free up space on the DVR and play a round of Parcheesi. Oh no! Now that “The End” has been typed on my manuscript, I have the great pleasure of seeking an agent.

Great, right? Yeah…ok…listen up. It’s great once a writer snags an agent, but the process to get there is 20x worse than writing the book itself. That process is called QUERYING.


Yup! Even cats hate that ish! It would be so much easier just to shoot an agent (or 200 of them) an email that says, “Hey, you. My novel is about a blind, one-legged man who wants to run across the country before he dies in a week. Are you interested?” But oh nooo! There is an actual formula to writing a query, one that requires hours of creative thinking and intensive labor. You have to be smart and witty and crafty…and fit it all onto ONE PAGE. In 350 pages, sure, I can do that. But on one page? Agents have made it the “survival of the fittest”! Certainly, it’s a quick way to weed out of the weak and flippant.

But like any goal, success, and achievement, obtaining an agent isn’t easy. It’s a heavily-traveled road, and many do not make it to their destinations. Some don’t even bother to take the road to Agentville but choose the road to Self-Publishhood instead (like I did for book #1). I want to go the agent route this time, putting in more time and effort into book #2. Yes, it’s costing me sleep, quality time, and migraines, but I trust that the benefits are worth it.

In the meantime, while I’m waiting for my inbox to chime w/ rejections (and boy, have I gotten plenty) and manuscript requests, I’m working on a short story that I will expand into book #3. I’m on fire, babyyy! Writing has always provided me with an outlet when I can’t/won’t share my deepest thoughts and emotions; writing always listens. I might as well keep writing until I produce something great. Maybe then, the whole world will listen.

blogsiggy

2 thoughts on “I have a migraine!

  1. Blechk, query writing… And querying in general… But I guess that which does not kill us makes us stronger.

    Now that your in query mode, can I ask about the previous mode, editing mode? Which books did you find most helpful for the editing process? Any you thought weren’t helpful? I’m letting my novel get cold for a few weeks, then editing mode will commence.

    • I don’t know of a single writer who actually enjoys writing queries. So, it’s good to know that we’re in great company. 🙂

      Books for editing? Hmm…can’t say that I’ve used any specifically for that purpose. For grammar and spelling issues, I do a lot of editing in my job regularly, so that part is easy. The Gregg Reference Manual and the AP Stylebook are excellent sources. Editing for development, plot weakness, characterization, POV issues, etc. is where I rely on readers and fellow writers. Agent Query Connect is where I find it all. Better than any book if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

