Angelique interviews Sarah Butland, August Author of the Month

If you missed my introduction for my August Author of the Month, you can read up on it here.

Sarah [Butland] was so kind to accept my invitation for a 1-on-1 interview on my blog. See what Sarah had to say about her current novel, Sending You Sammy.

Sarah, so tell us…when did you begin writing Sending You Sammy?

I wrote Sending You Sammy almost 5 years ago when I coloured a picture of SpiderMan in yellow and green (ran out of red colouring pencil) and saw another headline about childhood obesity rates being high. Simple things spun a rather simple tale but one that has made me an author.

What would you say is your favorite Sending You Sammy quote and why?

I still have to do homework?

This quote in Sending You Sammy has to be one of my favourites because of it’s obvious meaning. At this point Sammy is deciding on whether or not to take on the challenge of being a superhero and when he finds out he still needs to do his homework he realizes it’s really not so bad.

Homework has it’s place in every student’s life, brave and adventurous or otherwise.

Has Sending You Sammy impacted your readers as anticipated in regards to childhood obesity and literacy rates?

It has impacted some of the reader’s I’ve been able to stay in touch with. Not so much with completely  changing their diet but encouraging them to continue with eating even more healthy foods. I love hearing these success stories, even if BananaBoy didn’t have them start something new it’s having them be proud of their habits.

Do you find writing children’s books difficult?

Writing in general is not difficult at all for me, that being said I do find writing for children the most challenging. To be able to reach kids without preaching or dumbing down while still being compelling is something I put a lot of thought into for the first book.

I have some more installments written as far as their first draft but, upon reading them through, have been discovering they do everything I want to avoid.

What is your favorite genre to read?

Adult fiction is my most preferred literature and some favourites include Dan Brown, Stephen King, Luanne Rice, Kelly Moran and so many more. I have such a wide variety of favourites and runner’s up that the next book on my shelf to read is always something completely different.

If you weren’t a writer, what could you picture yourself doing instead?

If I wasn’t a writer I’d have to be a teacher. To see the pride in a young child’s eyes would be enough to make me passionate about the lesson’s I taught. I had so many favourite teachers I looked up to that I would desire to be one my students respected.

For those who may have questions or just want to follow your successes and progress, how can you be contacted?

To contact me, please visit my website at for my email address as well as ways to follow me there, on Facebook, Twitter and more.

Do you have any final words for your dedicated fans and prospective readers? Anything I may have missed that you feel the reading world should know about Sarah Butland, the writer?

You, my fans and prospective readers, are why I write. These stories do need to be told but what makes them unique, worth telling and amazing is those of you who read and enjoy them. My greatest thanks to you for reading.

Thank you, Sarah, for gracing my blog with such an insightful interview. May your successes continue to be great, and I look forward to keeping up with them all.

Leave a Reply

