Why am I always self-critical…

…when it comes to writing and editing my book? Without counting, I’m going to guesstimate that I read my book [in its entirety] 30 times BEFORE publishing; each time, I read it through the eyes of a different reader. I’m not even going to embarrass myself by revealing how many times I read it once it was published.  (Fortunately, I was able to revise the text w/o incurring any additional costs. :-)) It seems like every time I read it, I find a word to add, a comma to place, or a way to reword the sentence to make it flow even better. Finally, I said F* it! If I read my book one more time, I think I would have burned it to rid myself of a sickening addiction. It’s my first; it’s my baby. I’m certain that I could’ve improved the book more, but any more could have easily ruined its true concept and tone. I have learned a great deal while producing this gem and have already seen the improvements as I write my 2nd novel. When I find myself scrolling upward to ‘correct’ a paragraph, I spank my knuckles with my readily available pencil and resume typing. It seems to be working thus far.

Lesson #1:  Relax!  Need I say more?


Leave a Reply

